Rest On One’s Oars

20 Jan

Winter comforts: a snug room, the crackle and smell of a wood fire, amber candle flames, stacks of good books to read.  While the earth sighs in winter, drawing in upon itself, it is good to “rests on one’s oars” too.

Rest on one’s oars:  To relax after strenuous exertion; to suspend one’s efforts temporarily…Often this boating phrase is extended to mean…relying on the momentum of past performance to carry one along.   Rest on one’s oars was used literally in the early 18th century, and figuratively shortly thereafter.  From Picturesque Expressions: A Thematic Dictionary.

Gathered pine cones carry the seeds of the next chapter, foreshadowing spring’s fragrant new pines.

More comforts: a soft couch with plentiful pillows, thick, cozy throws, and dreaming dogs curled up fast asleep, legs twitching as they run in soft summer meadows.  Excuse me, I think I’ll curl up myself and rest on my oars for just a bit now.

.

.

.

12 Responses to “Rest On One’s Oars”

  1. Barbara February 1, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Congratuations Lisa!!

    Love ya’
    Sis

    • Lisa February 1, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Thanks! Back atcha.

  2. Gone Tropical January 30, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    I enjoy your blog very much, and therefore I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award in my post (http://www.myrtleglen.com/blogging/2012/01/30/the-versatile-blogger/)

    Happy Blogging 🙂

    • Lisa January 30, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Thank you so much for the nomination, your kind words and your support!

  3. catharine howard January 29, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    I like oars. Laurels are no more comfortable! Welcome to Blotanical.

    • Lisa January 30, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      Funny you should say that; I was thinking about “laurels” as I was writing this and wondering what exactly they are, and where the phrase comes from. I’ll have to look it up!

  4. Gone Tropical January 29, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    Love your box with pine cones
    The ones I find here in FL are huge, 4 of them would probably fill up that box 😉

    • Lisa January 30, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Thank you. Sounds like you would need a very large box, for your very large pine cones!

  5. Pam's English Garden January 27, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    I am resting on my oars right now — the best part of the winter season.
    Congratulations on being accepted to the Blotanical community. I hope you visit your plot soon and read the wonderful comments there. P. x

    • Lisa January 30, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      Thanks for all your help so far! Everyone is so warm and I’ve been reading some interesting blogs.

  6. The Sage Butterfly January 26, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Just reading your post and viewing your photos made me relax. It is that time of year, and I hope to take advantage of it now and then…

    • Lisa January 30, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

      I agree – sometimes it’s good to just go with the flow!

I would love to hear from you! Please take a moment to jot down a few comments.

