Aside

Grass, Joyce Sidman

5 Jan

Grass, Joyce Sidman

I grow in places
others can’t,

where wind is high
and water scant.

I drink the rain,
I eat the sun;

before the prairie winds
I run.

.

I see, I sprout,
I grow, I creep,

and in the ice
and snow, I sleep.

On steppe or veld
or pampas dry,

beneath the grand,
enormous sky,

I make my humble,
bladed bed.

And where there’s level ground,
I spread.

.

.

.

2 Responses to “Grass, Joyce Sidman”

  1. Pam's English Garden January 10, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Dear Lisa, Lovely poem beautifully illustrated. I enjoy Sidman’s children’s books. I have been reading and enjoying some of your previous blog postings. P. x

    • Lisa January 11, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Thank you so much for your kind comments, I really appreciate your taking the time to read some of my posts. I plan to do some raised bed kitchen gardening and noticed you have a lot of information about that on your blog as per your “2011 experimenting”, so I’ll be perusing it very soon!

I would love to hear from you! Please take a moment to jot down a few comments.

