A Moveable Feast

10 Mar

Spring waits for no man.  My vegetable seeds are calling to me from the garage, wailing “Plant me noowww“.  In my last post I mentioned I am renting a house until I find the right one to buy.  As such, I have been researching a garden bed that I can plant, tend and then pack up and take with me when it’s time to go.  It needs to be light, easy to move and extremely affordable. I thought I’d share some of the ideas I came across in my research.

.

.

Idea #1:  A Truck Garden.  Great mobility.  Maybe a bit…too much.

.

.

Part of a project by film makers
Ian Cheney and Curt Ellis.
Photo from www.greenupgraders.com

.

Idea #2: A Barge Garden.  Great for those challenged with limited planting space, but I would need a slip, and a large one at that…

Photo from http://www.treehugger.com/natural-sciences/clever-mobile-gardens-for-city-with-too-little-green.html

.

Idea #3: Wooden Crates.  I really loved the idea of gardening in wooden wine or produce crates.  I had to give it up though because the idea has gotten so popular that crates are hard to find and no longer budget friendly.

Photo from http://www.llhdesignsblog.com/2011/03/details-of-our-first-ever-garden.html

.

Idea #4: Homemade Rolling Cart.  I was impressed with this homemade cart, which is crisp and white and can be rolled around as needed.  I’ve always liked the concept of a garden that can be re-arranged at whim like furniture.  What if today the lettuce belongs against the south wall next to the red pelargonium but tomorrow it becomes clear that its true destiny is to play the foil, highlighting the spicy orange nasturtiums in the courtyard corner?  Alas I had to pass on the cart; not enough time (or skill) to build it.

Photo from http://www.instructables.com/id/Mobile-Vegie-Garden/

.

.
I finally settled on some City Pickers Raised Garden Kits.  They have self-contained watering system, drainage holes, and aeration screens so air gets to the roots.  They are also amazingly light, portable, and at $29.95, unarguably affordable.  However they lean toward the utilitarian side – not the most attractive solution.  So I am challenging myself not only to grow decent vegetables this spring, but to see what can be done to disguise the container they will be growing in..

.

If you have a  free moment next week stop on by and see how the planting is coming along.  I’ll keep a good spot open for you on the courtyard bench.

.

4 Responses to “A Moveable Feast”

  1. Southernruralroute.wordpress.com April 2, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    What a fun post! I’d heard of moving truck gardens but not the barge.

    • Lisa April 3, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      Thank you! Brings a whole new perspective to “mobile” garden, a potentially international one!

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk March 13, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    What a fun collection of images and a fun post. Loved it!

    • Lisa March 15, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

      Thanks! :-)

I would love to hear from you! Please take a moment to jot down a few comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

