Herb Window Garden That Pleases the Senses

30 Dec

Kitchen Windowsill Potted Herb Garden

I am just one gardener in an ancient chain that practices the time-honored tradition of herb pot gardening.  What’s growing now on my windowsill?  A quartet of fragrant herbs in a long pot to intertwine and become luxuriously full and green: piney rosemary, delicate lemon balm, robust basil and sweet mint.

I  read somewhere that fresh herbs contain a higher concentrations of antioxidants than leafy greens.  This caught my eye because I’m always looking for ways to fit healthier food into my meals.  I don’t have anything against spinach and kale, but herbs taste so much better and smell delicious!Close Up of Lemon Balm Leaf

I learned that lemon balm has “furry” leaves (see photo at right).  To me it smells of lemon verbena soap and tastes like lemon drops.  Along with mint it adds an unexpected, almost sweet element to salads.  Fresh basil makes the best pesto, and there is nothing like the strong flavor of rosemary to compliment hot, juicy roasted chicken.

Most herbs flourish easily indoors year round, requiring only a few (but key!) things: a window with six or more hours of daily sunlight, well draining potting soil (I like Miracle Grow), a chance to dry out a bit between waterings, having their flower buds pinched off and occasional fertilizing (over fertilizing causes rapid growth that is virtually tasteless).  Harvesting their leaves and sprigs actually promotes new growth.

Ahhh, fresh herbs within arm’s reach.  Definitely one of life’s simple pleasures!

Potted Herb Garden

2 Responses to “Herb Window Garden That Pleases the Senses”

  1. multiconstruct January 2, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    Hey nice blog and I really like the seed packet as gift idea. I will try to collect some and am going to bookmark your site. Thanks. I don’t do a lot of inside herbs, Missouri is pretty temperate and up by the house sometimes hardy things will be fine through the winter. I used a good bit of parsley and oregano and marjoram doing well. Some years I dry enough for the winter some I just do without. I do rosemary in a pot and bring it in for the winter but I think it got some kind of fungus and is mostly dead. I had a patch of lemon balm outside and lost my taste for it a bit after having it in the rotation a bit too much. It can be invasive a bit so I always put it in a challenging spot. I have Asian Basil in my mint niche at my current place. Anyway, thanks again for checking out my blog, I enjoyed yours. Mike

    • Lisa January 2, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      Thanks! Yes, rosemary can be a little temperamental and get moldy, the trick is not to water it too much and to let the soil dry before you water it again. Looking forward to reading your book someday ;-) your style reminds me of Hemingway – check out A Movable Feast.

I would love to hear from you! Please take a moment to jot down a few comments.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

